Improvement & Efficiency Awards 2016

Church House, Westminster, London
2 March 2016 - 6:30pm


14 COUNCILS have been named among more than 20 organisations shortlisted for the public sector’s prestigious annual efficiency awards.

The iESE awards, run by the national Improvement & Efficiency Social Enterprise (iESE), will showcase the best in transformation and improvement from councils, police, fire services and public partnerships.

The awards, which started in 2010, have become increasingly relevant as the modernisation and reform agenda becomes the top priority for services dealing with massive funding reductions.

More than 200 submissions were received for judging for this years awards, in categories ranging from remodelling services to partnerships and social care reform.

iESE, which has saved more than £600m for local authorities since setting up as a not-for-profit consultancy more than a decade ago, will reveal the winners at a gala diner event for shortlisted councils in London on March 2.

Chief Executive Dr Andrew Larner said the level of entries reflected a move from remodelling local services to finding ways to completely reinvent them.

“It’s fantastic to see so many councils and public bodies entering the awards this year,” he said. 

“So much work has been done by all candidates in the past year – from customer access improvements to mergers across the public sector – that it will be genuinely difficult to pick one above the others.

“Local government feels very break-neck at the moment – things are moving so fast that it’s very easy to forget that, whether they have won an award or not, a huge amount of pride, work and determination goes into these projects by people who really want to deliver improved outcomes as well as reducing the cost of service delivery.

“The Government talks about the sector surviving without grant – these are the people and the projects that are going to ensure that not only can we deliver services without grant but that the sector doesn’t just survive but thrives.” 

The iESE Awards will be held in London on March 2 by invitation only. A full list of the shortlisted organisations is below:


Transforming Access to Services
The levels of reduction in funding to public services mean that finding efficiencies is not enough.  The winners in this category all demonstrate that tackling the root cause of problems that create demand for services is key to creating sustainable communities and sustainable public services.

•    Adur & Worthing Councils – Rough Sleepers Team
•    Melton Borough Council – Me and My Learning
•    Taunton Deane Borough Council – Halcon One Team


Remodelling Local Services
As a part of the relentless drive to make efficiencies in local services we are all looking for new ways to deliver services.  The winners of this category demonstrate this drive to redesign how we deliver services to meet the needs of our residents and businesses.

•    Buckinghamshire and Surrey Trading Standards
•    Eastbourne Borough Council – Future Model Change Programme
•    Fareham Borough Council – Putting the Customer First


Working Together
Partnership between public bodies to better meet the needs of our communities takes dedication and commitment by all partners.  The dedication and commitment needed increases exponentially when trying something new.  The winners of the Working Together have shown that dedication, ensuring their partnerships make a meaningful difference to local residents and businesses.

•    Borough of Broxbourne – Ambition Broxbourne
•    Buckinghamshire and Surrey Trading Standards
•    Surrey Emergency Service Partners



Transforming through People
Even for the highest performing authority new skills and behaviours are needed for new models of local public services.  The winners in this category demonstrate this commitments and have developed lessons for the sector in how to develop the people at the centre of our services.

•    City and County of Swansea - Corporate Building Services
•    The Royal Borough of Greenwich – Rockcliffe Gardens
•    South Hams District Council and West Devon Borough Council – Behavioural Based Assessment Process



Transformation in Health & Social Care
Sustainable care services that provide the platform for a high quality of life for local residents is at the heart of council services.  The winning projects in this category provide new models of support that improve the quality of life of vulnerable residents at the same time as ensuring care services are financially sustainable.

•    East Ayrshire Health & Social Care Partnership – Lillyhill Gardens Development
•    East Aryshire Health and Social Care Partnership – Thinking Differently
•    Carmarthenshire County Council & Hywel Dda University Health Board – Releasing Time to Care


Transformation in Waste & Environment
Managing waste as a resource is an area where councils have a key influence on the environmental sustainability of their communities.  But like all other areas of local public services faces significant funding challenges.  The winners in this category demonstrate that councils are still able to innovate and deliver better outcomes for less.

•    City and County of Swansea - Corporate Building Services
•    Trafford Council
•    Warwickshire County Council


Fire & Rescue Project of the Year
This year there are two projects short-listed for Fire Service project of the year.  Both demonstrate a partnership approach to delivering improved services.

•    Hampshire Fire & Rescue Service and Isle of Wight Fire & Rescue Service
•    Kent Fire & Rescue Service


Police Project of the Year
This year there are three projects short listed for Police Service project of the year.  All three demonstrate the vale of partnership working, whether with other public bodies or with the community.  

•    Avon & Somerset Constabulary – Senior Minority Outreach Team
•    Kent Fire & Rescue Service and Kent Police - police vehicle telematics
•    Trafford Council – Trafford Division GMP


Innovation Award
All of our submissions provide models that others can learn from.  This category recognises innovation whether by public bodies or those that provide services to them.

•    Adur & Worthing Councils – New Cloud Platform Technologies
•    Melton Borough Council – Me and My Learning
•    Nottinghamshire County Council – Legal Services


Council of the Year 2016

•   East Aryshire Council
•   North Lincolnshire Council
•   South Hams District Council and West Devon Borough Council